Linux

^ Back to top

Topic is locked indefinitely.

2 Pages12Next page

Need help, new to Linux.

Author
Minmatar Republic
#1 Posted: 2012.01.05 13:06
Just bought a new computer. I couldn't afford an OS. I thought Linux would get the job done for now. I have no idea what to do though. How do I Install EVE? What do I need? Can anyone help please? If you can please try to keep it simple, I'm a noob to this.
thanks in advance.
Kill It With Fire
#2 Posted: 2012.01.05 15:34
First of all when you ask for help you should provide more details about your system. For instance it would be helpfull to mention what distribution of Linux you are using. I would also like to mention that Linux is similar as Eve in the aspect to learn how to use it, you will need to read A LOT. First help can always be found by googling your problem and searching on Linux forums (i.e. the Ubuntu forums or the forums for your distribution). Some distributions have excellent wiki's (e.g. Arch Linux) or great documentation (e.g. Gentoo). I strongly suggest you learn to use them and enjoy the learning process.

Now to your problem, I think it is safe to assume you are using Ubuntu because you mentioned that you are new to Linux and you obviously don't know that you need to use Wine to run windows programs on Linux. Most of the time Linux newbie's tend to be using Ubuntu. In case you are not using Ubuntu, then you need to adjust the steps for installing Wine for your distribution.

1) 2 step install of Wine for ubuntu
2) Follow the steps 5 to 7
3) If you have no idea what the steps are telling you to do, then ask here.
4) In case of problems related to installing Eve then ask here as well, but don't forget to provide some detailed information on what you did and errors you got.

If all goes well then you should be playing Eve pretty soon.
Minmatar Republic
#3 Posted: 2012.01.06 05:27  |  Edited by: Chocolate Digestive