So, you want to play EVE?

The Big Bang

This game… is it a game? It often feels limitless and there have been many times over my years of playing it where I haven’t had a direction, felt lost or have wondered what my purpose in it is; I wanted to make a difference here, and I still do. No matter how I have felt, I have still played in some form or another, and the reason is simply that:

I am addicted to it.

I have made lifelong friends in EVE, and I have lifelong friends that play EVE. It captivates me and my sense of belonging and wanting to improve like nothing I have ever felt in any other game, or to be honest many other IRL activities (not all :P). Is it a bad thing? Probably. Do I want to change it? No.

I am addicted to it.

When I started playing all those years ago, I like many others, started the grind with mining lasers on a cruiser trying to eke out an existence finding occasional Kernite rocks in high-sec; it took me 6 months of sustained effort to buy my first battleship and back then a Dominix was brown. There were, however, plenty of emerging PvP groups such as Killer Clowns and Sharks with Fricken’ Lazer Beams among many others, along with the beginnings of the nul-sec alliances inc. Rona (it’s like they knew), Stain and Curse, just a few that spring to mind that started to sow seeds of infamy.

Their users posting across the (old) EVE forums speaking of their daily antics (remember this is before YouTube) were great stories to read, and the back and forth by extension of Local was fun to keep up with during downtime, which lasted an hour without exception.

I remember being so desperate to play during my working day that I patched a PSTN line, that was used for a now defunct fax number, into a modem under my desk so I could dial-in to 'put a skill on’ (and mine a bit). This was to circumvent an MS Proxy Server that was managed by an outsourced IT company that, let’s face it, were never going to approve that firewall change request.

Intimidation