Clarification on Material Efficiency research

Ok so I’m just getting into some industry and have researched a few rig blueprints to 8% ME. Then I wanted to do some calculations before committing to the long haul of getting all the way to 10%.

So say I have a blueprint that requires 14 armor plates, 9 Contaminated nanite compounds, and 17 fried interface circuits.

My understanding is that when you calculate material efficiency, you can’t be left with part of a component. It will always round down.

For example, at 8% ME, the 14 armor plates would be reduced by 1.12. But the .12 doesn’t count, so at 8% efficiency, it would still require 13 armor plates per run.

The big deal is when, for this particular item, it requires 9 contaminated nanite compounds (which is by far the most expensive of the materials required), and starting with only 9, even if I take it to 10% ME, it would only take away .9 units which isn’t enough to get to the next whole number so it would STILL require 9 CNCs for each run, which means the time spent to get to 10% ME research is worthless as regards this material component and offers negligible savings for this product on the whole.

I guess the reason I’m posting is just to make sure my understanding of how all this works is correct. Because this would mean that the profitability of ME research is significantly dependent on the numbers of materials originally required. So of course something that requires 109 of a X material reduces by 10 and the loss of the .9 isn’t that bad. But something that only requires 9 or 19 to start with, well then the extra research is a lot less effective.

Any insight you can offer is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

You are correct: It rounds up to the next whole item.
If you need 30 widgets to make one item then with ME=8 that’s 27.6, you will need to provide 28 widgets to make one item. A saving of 2 widgets.

But. And it’s an important but…