DDoS Defense or Mitigation?

I’m not an expert on DDoS attacks. Maybe someone else is… which is why I am posting this.

My thoughts were… surely in this day and age (ok, fine, I’ll try not to call you Shirley), there are ways to defend against or mitigate DDoS attacks? Like not accepting connections from the IPs who are doing the attacks, or somehow filtering those IPs? And surely (whoops… did it again), IPs can be traced, people reported to authorities, etc?

I have no doubt that I’m wrong with these initial thoughts, and I know that “nothing’s easy,” especially with complicated tech stuff. I’m just looking for someone to chime in and explain the mechanics of DDoS, why it is difficult to defend against, etc.

Sounds good and all. But it won’t work. The person initiating the attack rarely attacks him/herself. Thousands and sometimes hundreds of thousands of innocent compromised computers do the attack.

Good idea though. A blocked IP will still slow a connection when it can send thousands of packets a second.

Yeah, I already kind of figured that to block an IP with software running on your own system, at a minimum you’d still have to read the IP, and run it through a filter (whether that be comparing it with a list of banned IPs or whatever else). I just figured there was probably some better way to do it, and that this was probably some ‘naive’ or ‘low effort’ attempt to solve the problem. I figured there must be some better solution, like using specialized hardware, blocking IPs way upstream before they can get to you, etc. Again, I admit I know little of the topic, which is why I posted this.

Are you saying that DDoS attacks can basically just cripple anything on the internet, and that if you are under attack you are basically just shite-out-of-luck? If so, then how do high-profile entities (banks, google, facebook, youtube, etc) ever keep any operations up? How does Fox News maintain an internet presence? Etc.