New player needs directions

Hi I am a new pilot just over 1 week old
i am interesting to pvp but i am running into a problems with skills it appears like i am not ready to fly things to fight with i even bought skill injectors to cover the magic 14 skills but every time i go to FW area and pick fights i cannot apply damage i was able to kill only a venture lol.
At this point i dont know what to do in the game i feel limited to my skills
Do you have any suggestion in what path i need to take to excell in my game
Thank you

So there are quite a few things you need to take into consideration.

First off, simply shooting at a target isnt going to necessarily guarantee a hit. There is something called a transversal. Basically, if your opponent is moving too fast parallel to your location, you will miss.

Secondly, there is an optimal and falloff range for all weapons and their respective ammunition. Hovering over the weapons icon will indicate how close you must be to the target in order to land hits.
This range will dictate how you will fight.

Thirdly, there is something called a tracking speed. Each weapon has a specific tracking speed that is somewhat changed by the type of ammunition you choose. Higher tracking speed, allows for better chances to hit smaller, faster targets. This too can be seen on the weapons indication, as well as your fittings screen.

There are methods to mitigate this problem, specifically the use of certain modules that will help you apply damage.

Stasis webifiers can slow enemies down. This will make them easier to hit.

Target painters increase the signature radius of ships, which is basically the size of the target on the ship.

Tracking Enhancers and Tracking computers can help increase your turrets optimal and falloff, as well as increase the tracking speed of your turret.