Please explain armor tanking - why?

Can someone explain to me the benefits/advantages/pros-cons of armor (and hull) tanking over shield tankng?

I understand if a particular class of ship has a bonus for armor. But otherwise, why limit shields in favor of armor?

Seems to me shields are your first line of defense, especially in ships up to cruiser classes.

Thanks.

Assuming a theoretical ship that could tank equally on armor or shield, one reason to favor the armor tank would be if you wanted to use E-War. Shield tank modules generally use mid slots, where your E-War would go, but armor tanking uses low slots. Warp disruptors and scrams for instance, if you intend to use them, could end up being fit to a ship at the cost of its shield tanking ability.

I’m no expert, though, and I’m sure someone else could give a much more thorough answer as to the pros and cons of each.

7 Likes

That’s a good point: Ewar and other tools use a lot of power and CPU. Armor uses little. Save the power and CPU for weapons and tools.

Thanks.

Bonuses aside.

Some ships naturally favour armour tanks - proportionately more low slots where armour modules fit, fewer mid-slits. A naturally larger base armour amount - just flavour/biases in the hulls.

The natural resists of Armour Tanks are better at handling EM/Thermal type damage than Shield tanks. This makes them desirable against some types of NPC, as well as against some opponents - if you face an Omen, then he’ll be using energy turrets and locked to EM/Thermal damage.

Active shield tanks are more capacitor hungry to sustain - it uses about a quarter or a third less cap for the same amount repaired. Armour repair rate is a little slower, and at the end of cycle, but that’s s good cap saving.