14 years

Hello fellow capsuleers and those who have access to the IGS.

14 years… time certainly races by. Upon extending my capsuleer license recently I noticed that it has now been more than 14 years since I’ve become a capsuleer. I’ve spend some time thinking about how much impact the capsuleer program has had in those years. Both on our Universe in general and on me specificly.

During those 14 years I have seen the rise and change of capsuleers and their position. Those who have come before me and made it possible to have the capsuleer program from which I graduated. I thank you for all you have given up to make it possible. You are those who I consider to be generation zero.
I consider myself to be of the 1st generation of capsuleer. We had to find our own way with a very limited infrastructure to support us. We had to make do mostly with refitted non-capsuleer ships and we were little more than prestige items for the Empires whom we strongly felt connected to. I remember reading in the news of how a new record was set with a little over 2,400 capsuleers being active at the same time. How far our numbers have grown…

Slowly the Empires started to see our potential and the benefits of integrating us. This has led to the rise of what I consider to be the 2nd generation of capsuleers. These felt welcome and needed and much like most of the 1st generation, they worked to help their empires grow and prosper. It certainly wasn’t without strife as the increasing integration and new technologies to support capsuleers also gave birth to those who wanted to create empires of their own.