How you runnin'? -Linux Setups-

Greetings fellow New Edens. Let’s discuss and compare the fastest Eve Online setups using Linux. Not necessarily the time it takes to get the game going on your fresh install, but gameplay.

Taking CPU/GPU/ETC into consideration. I attempted to transition back to wonkdoze after my OSX machine caught on fire. But it ain’t gonna happen. I am in the process of bring up a Ryzen 7 5800x box that I have decide to use Mint. I have been testing different O/S flavors on a ‘testbox’, and have blown through alot of ‘Eve setups’. Some were more quick than other configurations. With the new machine, I would like to install my configuration as clean as possible.

I’ve attempted; Steam, Lutris, now Bottles. Yes, I have successfully gotten them all to run, but I am still a linux noob. I only have a 2 gig GPU until this other box is up. I still get confused on Wine versions, Proton, etc, I guess the runners.

Please post your successful setups in this thread and lets compare!
THANKS!

I probably made a very poor decision to install Eve through Steam last year. My account is about a year old and due to Steam’s June upgrade, it no longer allows you to reduce memory on the spyware they run in the background. Before the upgrade I ran the launcher in “no browser” mode. This ran very minimal Steam on my current HP desktop potato. Long story short, new install should be done with anything other than Steam. I am currently “locked” into using their launcher, as long as I cannot launch this account from the Eve Launcher.

Currently the memory on my machine is 8 GB of RAM and playing more than a few hours the game starts to lag due to the memory filling up. I have complete system lock up, if I force it to continue playing. I have no plans to buy a new PC while this one is working.