Is Tatara much better than an Athanor?

I’m new to moon mining.

I’m thinking of setting up in a low sec system so I can try out moon mining. I have the place all picked out, and I really don’t mind putting up extra isk for the bigger station.

But only if it’s worth it. There is always a chance someone will roll through and blow it up, right? So a cheaper station means less risk.

But a 4% refining bonus vs 2% seems like it could make a difference.
And 25% fuel savings vs 20%

Is there anything else I should be factoring in?

Just don’t.
Join a corp that has one. Else you gonna get destroyed and that will make profit for the attacker.

I will consider that to be a vote in favor of the Athanor.

Or maybe I’ll downgrade to a Riataru? Since they’re even cheaper, and I can always build a manufacturing setup in highsec, I guess.

Low sec doesn’t give you any kind of a bonus for manufacturing prices, does it?

I can see now that the manufacturing rigs do give a bonus in low/null sec. A decently big one.

And large rigs cost quite a lot more than medium ones.

Makes sense, because your opponents can bring in caps to kill you faster.

Otherwise, I would be thinking a wardec is a wardec. So why would they kill my station if it’s in low, but not if it’s in high?

Because it’s there.

• You don’t need to wardec you to hit a station outside of high-sec. No warning. Anytime. A wardec at least tells you to be alert and requires more pre-planning by an attacker.
  • An attacker is guaranteed to get a 700m ISK Core from an Athanor for their effort.
  • It doesn’t take a lot of effort to kill an industrial station - they aren’t as tough as a citadel. A small group can do it with relative ease.
  • If you found an unoccupied moon then good. But why is it unoccupied? Is it so poor that everyone else has decided it’s not worth the effort? Or did you spot it just after a previous “eviction”?

If you are a solo operator can you defend your station?