Noob combat question

I want to throw this out as a generic question about ship combat. Total noob, only been playing a couple of days. My combat experience comes from the first tutorial and then the missions from the military agent. I am not on line right now and may get some of the names incorrect.

I end up in a hostile location and there are enemy ships around. Now I see them in my upper right window. Click on them, click on approach, click on target, maybe click to circle them, click to activate guns, wait till they blow up. Click on the next closest bad guy, click on approach, click on target, maybe click to circle them, click to activate guns, and wait till they blow up. Click on the next closest bad guy, click on approach, click on target, maybe click to circle them, click to activate guns, and wait till they blow up, etc. Ok, you get the idea.

Two thoughts here:

What I am not picking up on is tactics. I am sure as I progress click and shoot is not going to get me too far. I feel like I am missing something here.

Most of the time I do not even see the ship I am shooting at. Is there a view where my ship is on screen along with the ship I have targeted? Tying in and expanding on that: The other piece I feel I am missing is situational awareness. I am sort of not getting the big picture.

How do you pros fly and fight out there?

I do want to get the most out of these missions before I head out into the big bad universe. Any thoughts on how to do that?

2 Likes

Main tactic I do when running missions is to keep the enemy ships as far as possible and just move around to speed tank what manages to land a hit at a big distance, easier said for me because I use missiles, turrets have an optimal and falloff range to worry about but ideally you want to always be on your max optimal range and in a battleship if the enemy gets close I can just pop my Micro Jump Drive to rapidly gain distance…