Noob question - Why do players bid in ways that lose them so much profit?

I’ve been playing Eve for about 10 days, have made about 100 million ISK or so, almost all through station trading or buying stuff low in Jita, and hauling it to a station where I sell it at a premium. Maybe $20 million from trying out missions and mining too.

But now that I’ve been trading for a few days, I’ve noticed some players have like super bad trading skills. They seem to pay absolutely no attention to quantities and price movement when bidding, they just .01 every bid to be on top, no matter what.

Here’s what I mean… I enter trading on an item. I’m new with not much ISK, so I’m naturally making bids on higher margin items for very small quantities relative to what others are trying to move. I make sure that what I’m trying to buy is also a tiny fraction of the item’s daily volume, so that my buy/sell cycle should complete fairly quickly… So the trades will be lined up, a whole bunch in a tight range, all of them a few cents apart. I’ll come in wanting to buy like 1-2 of something, and I want it quickly, so I’ll bid several percent above the trading range. I know from experience in the real world that sellers looking for a price bump before they sell will pounce on the free margin I’m surrendering. I get a quick trade, but it costs me.

But many times, people trying to move far higher volumes worth many, many times what my trade is worth will reflexively chase me, tacking .01 onto whatever huge price bump I offered. Unless they’re savvy enough to change their price back after mine inevitably clears, then they just lost a shitload of ISK because they were too impatient or too stupid to let my irrelevant trade go through.