NPC rats in HS

Hi. I’m still a relative newbie to Eve as I know many players have been at this game for years, so please forgive me if my question (idea?) has been mentioned before or has an obvious answer.
Just for fun I got a shiny new Velator with the standard civilian fittings and went out mining in HS. I have three Skiffs and an Orca but was bored so left them docked up. Anyhow, I found rats in the asteroid belts and found that my newbie Velator was still very able to take care of them with relative ease. In fact, my Skiff just ignores them these days as they hardly even scratch my shields. So to my question or idea…
Does it seem reasonable that three npc frigates can be so easily outclassed by a single Velator? My idea (or ask) would be to perhaps make the npc rats in HS tougher to handle, more of a threat or challenge.
Three player controlled frigates would have me running for cover in my Skiff (not to mention in my Velator), so surely there should be little difference if those same frigates were npc controlled save for tactics and varied ship fittings. At the moment npc frigates in HS asteroid belts are like flies to be swatted away or simply ignored as they beat ineffectually against a ship’s shields. I think it would be much more interesting if these frigates could pose a real and serious threat, even to a player controlled mining barge. I know they are in HS and that LS rats may be stronger, but I would propose to let the HS npc rats be as deadly as the Sansha npc frigates during an incursion in HS space. So much more fun.