The Evolution to an Eve Online Esport

Hello,
I have been playing Eve for maybe 11 years now. I am currently pursuing a professional doctorate in Occupational Therapy and playing games as a hobby. I started Eve from Dust 514 and enjoyed the game, which led me to play the game for 11 years. I also enjoy other games such as Overwatch, Apex Legends, and recently League of Legends. I tend to look at Esports and the mechanics of their gameplay. However, the opposite can be said about Eve and any competitive game aspect. As of 2021, a total of 540 million individuals have watched Esports, and the projected population is set to increase. I am sure there are other pressing matters, such as FW and New Player Experience, but there is a population that is quite a large population that is underserved for this content. I have not researched the average age of players in Eve Online. But an Esport for Eve Online would open an additional avenue for an in-game career and a growing industry that Eve Online can be a part of. Regarding the nuances of how it would be done, I am currently writing ideas down and planning for the creation of the Esport. There may be people in this community who despise having Esports in Eve Online, but it would provide additional content and additional viewers to help the exposure of Eve Online. Any comments or recommendations? I would love to see the thread for ideas, things to think about, and overall community reaction. I love Esports, and I love Eve Online. I want to see an Esports before I hit the grave, so I would want to see how this dream looks in the future. Responses from the community will be greatly appreciated to develop this project further.

FYI, the financial aspect of the Esport has not been worked on mostly due to the workings as to how to make an Esport to begin with in Eve Online before starting a financial stance.

1 Like