Tips for a developer starting out with ESI!

Hello! I study software development in college and I’m also starting work placement in a few days (woo!) but I would love to develop an application(s) using ESI.

I’ve a few crazy ideas for apps, but I’d obviously like to start off with basics. I think any end goal for the apps I’ve in mind would be for them to be web apps, no desktop or mobile apps. I’ve been reading the developers website but I would also like to hear from the dev community what works best for them. What languages you use, what does your stack end up looking like for a full blown application, what things should I consider ahead of time before going too deep into development, what tools you think I should use or you think are a must before going into ESI work. Things like this :smile:

If the context of what I study in college is important - it’s primarily Java they’ve taught us. I’ve self taught myself to use the AWS cloud for environments and I’ve some experience in HTML/CSS/ PHP.

Thanks for replies in advance! :smile:

1 Like

I too have been looking for a good starting library for an ESI app. There are a lot of choices it seems, from starting with a generic swagger library or using some ESI specific library.

• list most of the ESI libraries.
  • It also list a lot of existing projects, if you feel like contributing to an existing project instead of starting your own.
  • It’s also a good place to look before you start a project, to see if something like it already exist or not.
  • With the XML API closing down, there will soon be a lot of projects that will simply stop working. Adopting a project like that may be a huge task, but, worth considering. Alternatively you could start a new project that fill the gap left by a dead project.

It’s also worth reading the following post, that help with most of the things you need to know:

1 Like

Nice, thank you! o7