Upgrading from Dominix?

Been flying a Dominix for awhile using sentires. I have t2 everything except for guns which I haven’t concentrated on skill up much since my sentries kill everything. I’m almost done with Battleship 5. With my limited understanding of ships, it looked like moving to a Rattlesnake would be a good upgrade since I use sentries so much, but i have next to no missile skills.

So my quesiton, would a Rattlesnake be a sensible upgrade? If not, which direction should I go with this playstyle?

Rattlesnake

3 Likes

Im not a professional concerning advanced large hulls, but if you’re almost done with Gallente Battleship V, you’ll have access to strong subcapital hulls. Marauders are the last word in PVE because of all the utility highslots (and their base higher damage plus T2 resistance), but sadly the Kronos is a Megathron hull, so you won’t use as much Drones as you will with blasters/railguns. You might be interested in getting the Sin, as it’s the T2 variant of Dominix, but Black Ops, in my opinion, are better for PVP than PVE. Black Ops also have very poor base resists, and the Sin only have 4 turrets hardpoints.

1 Like

Ah, I forgot to add it, but the last step of drone boats are of course super carriers (and their capital variants). Fighters being really advanced drones, you can try the “joys” of carrier ratting in nullsec space. Nyx and Hel (with Thanatos and Nodhoggur) get a damage bonus to Heavy Fighters (for supercarrier, carriers get a bonus to Light Fighters) : +10 % bonus to Fighter Damage (5% for carriers).

I suppose you are using that ship for PvE, not for PvP. I doubt you can find any other drone boat, that would offer you same gameplay.