A new player looking for help

Hey guys, my name is Hutch. I am new to the game and have never played a game like this before. The main question I have is what are some things that one should master in the game. I currently don’t care about isk per hour. I just want to gain knowledge about the game and enjoy my time here. I plan on staying an alpha until I master the basics and understand the game.

Currently trying out market trading and finish all careers. I am also researching fw and ratting. Please feel free to help me learn the game of eve and enjoy it! One rule no fighting in this post, help me gain knowledge about eve please.

There are many career paths in EVE, though some will be blocked by your Alpha status. There is PvP, PvE, R&D, missioning, construction, exploration, trading, planetary interaction, mining, hauling, ganking, mercenary, etc…

You won’t be able to do planetary interaction as an Alpha, nor will you be able to research blueprints, use a cloak, or a multitude of other modules and ships.

EVE is a strategy PVP game. Your character trains skills in order to unlock and use various ships and their weapons / modules. The ships are tools, each has a role or special purpose, and you’re allowed to fly whatever ship you want (if you’ve unlocked it), but choose wisely. Combat isn’t like a lengthy martial arts scene you may see in recent movies, but rather about bringing the ships and the tech that match the enemy’s vulnerabilities, for a guaranteed win. Strategy, tactics. No ship is a superhero / overpowered / solo pwn mobile.

Initially you’ll be trying to master the game rules, and there are a few important topics you need to understand: