A Promise Kept - Capsuleer Fic

“I’ve seen Capsuleer’s become pirates, explorers, businessfolk, and hell, even politicians,” Captain Markus Ryder chuckles, forcing Deeva to look up from her food. “But I’ve not seen very many of them become journalists.”

Deeva sat up straighter in her seat, looking across the table to her Captain. There’s a faint, amused smile on her face. It wasn’t the first time she’d gotten similar sentiments, and she doubt’s it’ll be far from the last. “I didn’t become a Capsuleer to be a journalist, Ryder. I was a journalist first, then I got a scholarship to become a Capsuleer. It only seems natural I combine the two.”

“Nah, nah, I get it, don’t get me wrong.” Ryder continued to eat. “I’ve heard your statements on the matter, and that’s why I’m here. It’s more than just some mining crew you’ve gotten together here. I’m just sayin’, it’s not the usual move I see. I think it’s interesting.”

Deeva raised an eyebrow. “Interesting? Has my Anthropology degree finally rubbed off on someone?” She grinned just before sticking a fork into her mouth. “About time, I’d say.”

Ryder shook his head. “No offence, I’ve dealt with enough people to know what’s going on in their head. I don’t need no degree to prove that.”

They both sit in an awkward silence for a moment, the newness of their relationship glaringly apparent.

“Why not go for something with money in it? Why not just pull together some mining crew or courier team and run packages around the cluster? You’re looking into some dangerous places, and with this plan you drew up, we’d barely be scraping by.”

Deeva paused, and she set down her eating utensils.

“Ryder, were you on Gallente Prime when the Caldari glassed my people out of Caldari Prime?” She spoke carefully. She new Ryder had been a ship captain for decades, but he wasn’t a Gallante.

“I was on the other side of the cluster, I think.”