Ammunition Popularity Question

Old timer just back to EVE (full time) and been trying to figure out which ammo is most popular and why, and which is least popular and why. One thing seems to be that arty ammo isn’t all that popular. Is this accurate?

Advice and suggestions welcome. Thanks.

1 Like

There are a million variables required to answer that question.

There is no ‘popular ammo’.

What ship are you flying? What ship is your target flying? Are you going to brawl and punch them in the face or are you gonna send alpha volleys from 200km out? Where are your character’s skillpoints?

The closest possible answer begins with what YOU want to fly.

1 Like

In general you want to carry the highest range ammo, the highest tracking ammo, and the highest damage ammo and aim to fire the highest damage ammo by setting your keep and range and orbit to roughly the same distance.

im a amarr pilot
the ammo i like
imperial navy multifrequency - good damage good tracking its the ammo i use the most
gleam - superb damage and tracking for beam , very low range , its noice
aurora - nice damage for a long range one , ■■■■ tracking , good to kill bad kiters
imperial navy radio - anti aurora , poor damage ,good tracking ,good range, switch wen the kiter is good
conflagration -very good damage, terrible tracking , low range, good to face damage slow stuff with pulses
scorch - medium range good damage for the range (amarr is a mid range race) bad tracking the amarr most famous crystal , i don’t particularly like it but i use it

edit:
noob pilots should have

pulse : scorch and imperial navy multifrequency
beam: aurora and imperial navy multifrequency

at least , its a good starter kit

The market tells you how much each ammo is being traded. Look at the highest volume of trade.

With regards to arti-ammo being unpopular, might it just be lower consumption because of high volley damage and low rate of fire?

edit-

Quick check says scourge light missile.