Are keyboard/mouse based programmable buttons allowed?

A corp mate told me that macros aren’t allowed, but i’m not sure what this covers. I recently got a new razer mouse and have been making macros such as auto fire buttons for Battlefield 4 and grenade throw macros for Counter Strike. These are then programmed into the mouse key of my choice. i drew up some concepts for EVE such as activating all weapons with 1 button press, does this fall under the blacklist of bindings or not?

Please do keep in mind im very new to EVE and I dont know if theres a legitimate in-game way of binding certain “quality of life” buttons. Thanks

one button click = one action in game. if you map multiple in game actions to a single key, it’s not allowed. So no, activating multiple things with one button press is not allowed.

It’s a gray area. CCP has in the past done work to support programmable keys, but it seems to me if you aren’t allowed to use them for automation, then they should only be used for things you can find in the escape -> shortcuts menu.

edit: which actually does cover some useful things. You could map your f keys to mouse buttons. You could map broadcasts to mouse buttons. You could map drone commands to mouse buttons.

You can activate all weapons with F1 by grouping your weapons in the fitting screen.

Otherwise, the same rules for macros/bots (section 6.A.3) apply to programmable devices. The most you can do with it is combine cumbersome combinations of ctrl-alt-shift-x keys into easier-to-reach button presses.

You can NOT combine multiple in-game actions into a single button, have triggers or delays, send pages of text to the chat channels with a single press, etc., all of these are bannable as macro/bot actions.