Back to EVE and a bit surprised: Are HS NPC gatecamps a thing now?

I took a family related break from EVE but always wanted to come back, because I really liked the game. First I started to log in and collect the free daily rewards, but today the plan was to stay at home, catch up with the newest season of “The Expanse” and play EVE a bit further then the login screen. Can’t go to work and I can’t leave the house, it seemed like a plan.

As I am an alpha pilot for now I couldn’t board any of my trusty vessels but a Venture, but that didn’t bother me much. It was time to get some ore and to use those free blueprint copies I got. (I know those are more or less trash tier items, but I just wanted to play EVE again and that seemed like a start. Maybe lose the frigates I build in Fraction War thereafter. (Do omega Pilots get the same trash tier blueprint copies or something useful?)

As I know EVE can be quite unforgiving to the clueless I tried to educate me about all the changes that happened while I was away. Highsec seemed to be pretty much the same, apart from the “Triglavian Invasion“ and citadells. As far as I get it they invaded some systems that are a potential danger even in HighSec now, but you get a warning when entering such a system. No biggy. I left the new Jita station (looks cool to me) and remembered, that there are no roids in Jita. The new agency window tells me there are belts with Pyroxeres ore a few jumps out and I am on my way. But there are no rocks left, only a few NPC Ventures idle in space. Whatever…

I check wiki for the NPC miners and as far as I understand you can shoot the transports and they drop ore. So “gun mining” is back? Doesn’t sound bad to me. Looking for belts that aren’t empty I find more NPC fleets, but noone is shooting at them and the other players in my Corp are not even sure if you are supposed to shoot them and tell my the whole purpose of the fleets is to annoy us.