[CSM 15] January Valentine

My EVE Online story aka Who Am I and What I Believe

I started playing at the tailend of 2014 after my friend showed me the ‘This Is Eve’ trailer and I’ve failed upwards since. I’ve been involved in nullsec blocs, small gang roams, daytripping in wormholes, capital production and market trading. One of my most rewarding choices was answering Matterall’s call for a production assistant for the Talking in Stations podcast two years ago. Today I’m the head producer for TiS and also help produce The Meta Show. Two years ago, in April of 2018, Matterall advertised a producer position for Talking in Stations podcast. I had listened to the show but I met Matterall the year before and we shared a train car and were introduced. I answered the call because I loved Eve, and still do, probably more than I should. I wanted to understand more of what was going on and how players affected each other in the universe. What I learned and still learn every day is that Eve Online is the story of us, how we log in every day and try to make our fleet, our corporation, whatever group we fly with a little better than the day before. The hopes and dreams that we carry with us and the brothers and sisters that are there to pick us up and rebuild in the losses, the evictions and the starting over. In doing this I’ve built a great network where I hear from many voices and many backgrounds.
That’s important because on the CSM CCP presents us with a lot of metrics, and I am uniquely suited to give context to those metrics, especially because I have listened to those voices that don’t make it past the noise that is r/eve or even the forums.

Why am I applying for the CSM?