Exploration: How to take Scanning to Next Level on Day 1

As a new player do you want to make millions of ISK risk free and have fun learning the map doing it? Want advice from a new player on how to get there your first day?

My goal in this thread is to talk a little about my experience as a new pilot, and how you can pop million isk sites with 32,000 isk of probes and a piece of junk tutorial scan-ship. I promise you, the thread may seem long, but it’s not overwhelming, and you CAN figure this out in a day.

First, about me: I haven’t played EVE since 2008, so I’m a newbie like you! (Assuming that’s why you’re in the New Citizens’ Board).

I wasn’t sure what I would “fall in love with” in getting back to EVE, I just knew I wanted to get back into the game. So my first piece of advice is there’s a lot of great tutorials out there, but this is the best one (let me see if I can link it here.) Alpha to Omega Wormhole Tutorial

Now don’t worry, you won’t be exploring Wormholes, unless you want to, I found that while I could crack the sites there (capsuleers call it popping sites, but I think of it like cracking a safe), all the sites were hostile. And it’s not a good use of time to find hostile sites when you’re flying in an unarmed T1 scanner.

Why is that video so good? I watched HOURS of videos, what’s great about that one is it’s everything you need to know. How to generally avoid gate camps, how to avoid being scanned and found while you’re working in a hostile system. So, on to my bit of advice!

1. Follow the advice in that YouTube video, and practice it in HIGH SEC all the time. Always leave a gate, get fast at warping to a celestial object, ctrl-B and set down a “Safe bookmark”, set down a couple, then always shuffle between those bookmarks during your exploration in that system. Do always, like a firefighter, or a submariner, you never know when you’ll slip into low sec and let your guard down.