How to probe a ton of sigs quickly in a fresh hole?

Hi guys, I’m new to probing/exploration and have some questions about how to quickly probe down all the relevant sigs when I enter a WH. I apologize if I mess up any terminology.

Setting: I’m in an Astero or Cov Ops frig, I go into a WH and see a dozen or more sigs sorta clustered around in the middle.

Goal: Identify and probe down all the Relics/Datas/WH exits QUICKLY so I can get my hack on and then go elsewhere.

I normally just start off w/ a pinpoint 4AU in the middle of the cluster, then whatever pops up I either ignore it (like gas), or center around one of the higher % ones to identify it further. I’m not sure I’m doing it right since it can feel a bit slow.

Another question is do you hack a site as soon as you identify it, then finish scanning the rest later? Or do you scan everything first then hack? What are the pros and cons of each methodology?

Any other tips are appreciated. My main goal is to get in and out of a hole asap so that I can minimize danger and maximize profit. It’s also a fun challenge to be able to do it well!

Thank you.

I tend to go the other way and do a 16 AU scan and then move down from there, Gas sites identitify (for me at least) at 8 or 4au and I ignore them - I have not wasthced the whole thing for an age but this maybe useful -https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3pVME34JNE

most sigs are 6AU from a celestial, so you can start by scanning around celestials with sigs around, with a 4AU range.
Then with enough probe strength and deviation, you can triple shrink, that is go straigth to 0.5 AU. this will save you a lot of time.

also you can look at the size of the signature bubble. bigger sigs usually mean wh/gas.

3 Likes