Wormhole Hunting

Hody, folks. I’m getting tha hang of the Exploration career path but have a question about scanning down Wormholes.

With any other signature I track down, the process is the same. I launch a spread formation, then gradually narrow a pinpoint search until I get a 100% on a site’s location. With a wormhole I’m trying to find, though, I narrow my search until I’m getting a 50% signal, and then when I lower the radius below that to the lowest (.5k, I think?) I’m not getting a signal anymore. The circle on my scanner for the wormhole resets to 0% and I repeat the process without end.

I’m keeping my drones’ search area in the same place- the wormhole’s signal area- with each reduction in search radius.

Am I doing something wrong?

As a wormhole resident, my general practice is:

• Scan celestials at 4AU (majority of signatures spawn within 4AU of a celestial). If this fails, scan at 8AU range to catch the outliers
  • When the signature is sufficiently scanned to be a dot instead of a sphere, scan that dot at 2AU. Sometimes you will have two dots connected with a line, the signature will be one of the two dots, scan one and if it does not resolve, scan the other.
  • Continue to lower the AU one notch at a time (1AU, .5 AU, etc) until you get 100% match

If you don’t get 100% match this way, the signature is too hard for you to scan down at your skills so then you must

• Increase your skills
  • Use implants
  • Use a bonused ship
  • Use scan improvement modules on that ship

Hope that helps and happy hunting. STRXP is recruiting! Join “STRXP Public” channel for more details

2 Likes

Probably a skills issue, then, since I’m doing all of the above. Thanks much for your help! o7

If you get 0% and a negative sound, the object is no longer within your radius. Be aware you have to check 3D, so you need at least 2 viewpoints on a 2D screen. The toggles at the bottom right help with that task.