I can help fix the botting problem if CCP is interested in an academic partnership

I have a PhD, my dissertation work is on data-driven cyber-threat intelligence using computational techniques (i.e., machine learning). Recently I have been working on systems for bot detection across different types of platforms. I currently am a tenure-track faculty at a major research university in the United States.

I believe I could help CCP solve their bot issues by building computational techniques and tools that could help CCP employees identify and assess bot activity. The only thing I ask data and the ability to publish some research papers on this problem.

CCP if you’re interested, please let me know.

4 Likes

A quick test question?

Does your detection method incorporate the Bayes’ Theorem in any way?

1 Like

Depends on the problem context but often times yes. Since the output is probabilistic we market our tools as “decision support systems” meant to help human analysts identify data points of interest rather than running as a completely autonomous system

A lot of my work also uses feature-based learning with no real prior aside from some labeled data. But even then, bayes’ theorem can be used to help pre-train a model if needed in some contexts

1 Like

Academic publishing record you can post to validate your expertise?

Good enough. I learned about this in Theology, getting my Th.D. Thomas Bayes was no fool, and his system is the basis for a lot of stuff, today, though it was useless outside theology, at the time.

I don’t fully understand the new stuff, oop, all the new languages and techniques, but whatever you code it in, the idea of being able to make predictions from incomplete data is… Well, potent.

1 Like

Not going to publicly identify myself in this community : )

My current biggest project is with a multi-national company that generates $10B in annual revenue in just the US market

1 Like