I don't understand this 'nullsec AFK ratting' concept

o7 capsuleers,

I’m relatively new to New Eden, less than 7 million skill points, and having a blast. I’m lucky enough to have found a great group of people to play with out in nullsec, and when I’m not hacking cans I have been having a good time and making steady ISK doing combat anomalies in one of these 100mn afterburner VNI’s that seem to be pretty popular for null ratting.

I like actively playing/piloting my ship and when I get up from the computer I always either dock up or cloak up (if i have a cloak fitted) - just seems to be common sense / best practice.

However, browsing around on the forums I keep seeing references to ‘AFK ratting VNI’s’ and not that I would even play the game like that - but I don’t understand how that would work out in null. Neutrals / reds are out there roaming around, and I know from experience how fast they can scan you down and warp in on your ass - and if you’re AFK, you’re space junk.

Indeed, if I was to roam around myself looking for prey out there, I would probably specifically look for these type of players. Also, if i’m AFK i can’t keep an eye on my shield/capacitor, I can’t see the intel channel, I can’t know if that occasional Dreadnought has spawned, and I can’t do much as far as targeting new rats after I’ve killed the ones I’ve got locked (auto targeting systems don’t seem to do much of anything).

So I guess my question is - why would anyone go AFK in nullsec when they’re ratting?

o7

The only afk rating I heard of is VNI ratting.

This is a fit that relies on the high speed/sig of a VNI fitted with an oversized prop (100mn compact) to handle the rats DPS easily. Thus it can be fit with DDA that increase its DPS to 600-700 ish.

A correct fit costs around 120M and can easily achieve 60M isk/h (more if loot /salvage).
It only needs to setup(orbit something, launch drones, activate propmod) , and then it’s almost afk for 20 min.

1 Like