[IDEA] R&D agents to give missions with actual scientific tasks

Hello everyone!

I’m a big fan of tech and science. Being an IRL scientist, I was fascinated to see how the Discovery Project was implemented in Eve Online. I think that putting a real science to the game does a great job in both promoting scientific knowledge and actually educating general public. And I have an idea how to expand it further.

Years ago, R&D agent datacore farming was popular. It was nerfed badly for the reasons I clearly understand and support. Too much ISK for too little effort. Since then it is no longer a viable source of income and basically dormant. But R&D agents still exist in-game, for as little purpose as it is.

I think it’s time to rewind R&D agents. My ideas is that instead of passive research points generation, they should give missions, which would require players to solve actual tasks in the field of science agent works with. Ideally, there should be some simplified MathCad-like mini-game interface that would give a means to solve the tasks all ingame. The difficulty of the tasks offered should increase with agent’s level. Mission descriptions should include some basic theory behind the task, that would provide a way to find the solution. Player character’s science skills should affect the rewards. The rewards, in turn, should be comparable with the ones we currently see in FW datacore farming.

I believe that there should be following relation between agent’s expertise and scientific field of mission tasks:

• Datacore - Amarrian Starship Engineering => Statics and Dynamics, Control Systems Engineering, Avionics

• Datacore - Caldari Starship Engineering => Statics and Dynamics, Control Systems Engineering, Avionics

• Datacore - Electromagnetic Physics => Electrodynamics

• Datacore - Electronic Engineering => Microelectronics design and programming

• Datacore - Gallentean Starship Engineering => Statics and Dynamics, Control Systems Engineering, Avionics