I'm new and need some tips

Hi,
I’m about to star and would appreciate some advice what to do, not to do, etc. I’m totally new to the game. Does the choice of the faction at the beginning matter?

Thanks in advance! :grinning:

Welcome to Eve.

The choice of faction does not matter from a gameplay perspective - you can cross-train all skills. Edit: it may matter to you if you’re into role play: https://wiki.eveuniversity.org/Factions

Eve university is an excellent resource for new (and experienced) players I recommend you do some reading on their wiki before diving in too deep.

https://wiki.eveuniversity.org/Getting_Started_in_EVE_Online

CCP have created a number of video tutorials under the “Flight Academy” label that you can find in-game on the help menu or on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjulnwvUNLU&list=PLQvKSs1k6DLO6iVoip6ZUa5xiG1Ak7hW_

Good luck

2 Likes

Welcome to EVE. Embrace loss - treat your ships like ammo. Don’t fly what you can’t afford to lose. Do the tutorial and at least the first five career agents for ship and isk rewards. If you end up losing everything there’s other career agents near other starting locations, they have the same missions but you can still get their rewards. Ask questions here and in rookie help and consider joining a newbie friendly player corporation.

2 Likes

although the choice of faction does not matter in the beginning, i like to think of my character’s background when considering what are their motivations, or by what means do i imagine they arrived at the places in their journey where i’ve decided to take them to go?

you can’t go wrong. just think about your story, and pursue your curiosity

Starting race doesn’t really matter these days, it just determines what race’s frigate and small weapons skills you have pre-trained.