Mentor needed (UK TZ)

Greetings ladies and gents,

I’m a new player, just started a couple of weeks ago but actually spent more time reading about EVE than actually playing it.
The more I read, the more it intrigues me and I want to know more. The issue is, the huge amount of information revolving around the game … and I feel like I haven’t even scratched the surface…

At this point, I could really use a mentor, preferably a military one as I intend to follow this path.

I live in the UK, play mostly in the evenings after 8pm and weekends a bit more, depending on availability… you know, family, kids, work etc. I’m also an IT professional, speaking 4 European languages… so I might be able to return the favor in, perhaps, advice regarding something non-EVE related.

I would love to find that nice person with the knowledge, time and patience to answer questions about the game, help me spend the skill points properly, with a clear direction, rather that me assuming I will be needing this or that skill or copying a build I find online which perhaps is only useful in particular scenarios.
Example: I’d rather not wait 12 days for the upgrades T1->T2 railguns if I’m going to use light missiles or rockets predominantly later on in the game. I know you can skill those too but it’s clearly more efficient if I upgrade the correct ones from the start.

I also have silly questions like: what do you refer to as “blob” or what’s blues, reds, greens, SEAT (guessing not the car)… etc.
There’s only so much I can deduct from reading other players experiences throughout the game, some terms are very EVE specific and assumption is the mother of all… yes. :slight_smile:

I’m playing alpha atm but can (and will) upgrade to Omega as soon as I know where I’m heading to - no issues with this.