New Player and PvP Challenges

I’ve been playing EVE for about 2 months. I heard it was a fun PvP based game, and I’m an avid fan of the PvP. I looked forward to eventually being able to hop on and spend a couple hours playing, getting into some fights and just having a good time. But the lack of ANY new player PvP centric design to this game is frustrating beyond belief. These are my main issues with Eve PvP.

There is no place for a new player to go in EVE that is easily accessible that has players of a similar skill level to train or get used to the complexities of Eve PvP combat. The large play space, 3-D environment, maintaining ranges, managing modules, overheating, weapon or ammo selection, etc. There is a lot to learn to get the basic skills needed to have fun and participate in PvP.

In addition the amount of time looking for fights that you might be able to win as a new player completely eclipse’s the amount of actual PvP play or training you’re able to get. Maybe I just don’t know where to find the fights and I’m certainly limited by what I can fly, but I’ve logged over 30+ hours roaming null, and have only managed about 10 minutes worth of PvP content. I don’t mind losing fights. I mind the huge amount of time looking for a fight I know I’m probably going to lose anyways.

If you’re interested in retaining new players CCP you should make it a priority to find some way to get new players engaged and be able to practice some PvP. Having to spend all of your play time searching low/null, avoiding gate camps just to engage in a fight you really have little idea of what you’re doing in, isn’t fun. But it is a good way to turn off potentially interested players.

1 Like

I’ve been using the recently released Santa’s Reindeer filaments to some great success. They take you to a random “potentially active” nullsec system and you can almost always find a fight in one or two filaments.

1 Like