Newb looking at mission running with so many questions!

Apologies in advance, so many questions

So to try and cut a long-ish story shorter I started playing EVE AGES ago & I’ve been and off over the years. I’m wanting to get back into EVE but don’t have the time to do the ‘really serious’ stuff like nullsec or even Abyss I think. Instead i’m just looking for something that will allow me to do those basic lvl 4 missions for some fun in my spare time.

At the moment I am flying the Orthrus, runs at around 320DPS and 31.2k EHP (not really got any skills maxed out yet though as well) and while I figure out what to do I am training up generic missile/navigation/drone skills that will be useful for any missile-based ship.

Last time I logged into the game someone I was chatting to was talking about how the Tengu would be more than enough, being able to produce up to 800 sustained DPS at ranges exceeding 100km and with more than enough EHP to withstand what was thrown at me. Is this still the case or have things changed?

A lot of what I’ve read over the past few days talks, instead, about the Rattlesnake being one of your ideal highsec mission runner… is the Tengu no longer really a suitable ship for the task? (in terms of training time it would take no longer for me to use one over the other). Furthermore, out of curiosity, why not the Barghest?

I ask only because it seems to also be a missile dominated ship and yet I’ve yet to see its name mentioned as a contender despite having more high slots, a much faster speed (over 50 m/s according to the comparator tool) and seemingly similar in all other stats (a slightly weaker base shield strength I believe).