Ore compressing

Been away for quite a time and found that the system I enjoy knitting in (mining solo) no longer has an active station to compress ore in.
If I buy a porpoise, can I park it in an NPC station and compress ore in it?
If so what minimum modules do i need?

Thanks

http://www.evehowto.com/wordpress/2022/01/13/ore-compression-and-reprocessing/

Thanks but I saw that we can now compress ore in these types of ships and Im wondering if I can do so in a non processing npc station. That is, that I move the uncompressed ore from the mining barge into the porpoise then compress it?

I have no experience in compression or with the Porpoise but I know that ship can compress ore.
I would figure it can do so even while being docked but I could be sorely mistaken.
Let’s see what other more knowledgeable members will post. I thought that link may be a good start.

1 Like

The ore compressor is an active module, so I doubt you can use it docked. Upon mouseover in a simulated fit is says ‘ships in your fleet have to be within 44km to use compression’.
I have not used one (yet) so don’t know if this means the Porpoise itself can compress ore, although I’d imagine it will be able to as it can use mining drones and t would be odd to not allow it to compress what it mines…

3 Likes

Thanks

I did some poking around the market place and see that the porpoise reqs a medium compressor thingamajig. I suppose I could just load it right up with ore and compress it just outside the station.

You need:

• A medium industrial core
  • The Medium asteroid compressor

Fitted onto the ship.

You will need to undock the porpoise and your barge. They will need to be in a fleet together.

You hit the industrial core on the porpoise. That’ll bring it to a standstill. It cannot warp away. It cannot move. It cannot receive tether. An excellent tank fit is recommended, because of its vulnerability.