POS was better than EC's

So, here is my bold claim. Why? I’m a small-scale industrialist and researcher with 4 characters specialized in these tasks. I used to own a small POS, maybe one billion isk total and 100m/month fuel cost. For the same functionality I would now require 2 azbels (total cost: about 40 billion) or about 4 or 5 raitarus. Fuel cost for the azbels would be roughly 200m/month or about 400-500m for the raitarus. I’m rather wealthy so this alone wouldn’t be that big of an issue.

However, due to having a real life I sometimes need to take breaks from eve. It used to be simple: I could simply take down the POS and move it to a station. Now, this is simply impossible: of those 40b isk azbels 27b is in rigs. I would have to burn 27b isk or leave the things out in space to be shot by any one-man wardeccer corp. While the low power mode didn’t cause this issue, it certainly hasn’t made things easier. Raitarus would be somewhere about 10b total I think, and I would have to spend half a billion a month just to prevent them from becoming easy targets regardless of whether I’m producing with them or not!

POS had slightly worse bonuses and was UUUUUGLY, but it was also dirt cheap, used less fuel, was a lot more versatile and didn’t require getting married with EVE. This is why I wouldn’t mind going back to the age of the POS although I know it will never happen.

Rant over. burp

3 Likes

I am (genuinely!) curious: why do you need so many structures to do what you do and how could a single small POS do all that?

I thought POSs had a limited number of slots for jobs, whereas structures have infinite slots once you online the right module. Or is it because you need so many different sets of rigs to get bonuses to everything you do?