Question about Combat Sites & Ratting

Hi everyone! So I’m basically a newb. I’ve played Eve before but never got too far before quitting. Something keeps bringing me back though. So I’m trying again for like the 5th time with a fresh Alpha account. I’m trying to get into Ratting & Combat Sites. Right now I’m using a Cormorant and Corax as I’m a Caldari and those are the skills I have trained at the moment. My question is this, I know how to scan down sites. But what’s the process for finding combat sites then clearing them out? Like am I supposed to use an exploration ship like a Heron to scan the sites down. Then fly all the way back to them with a destroyer/cruiser to clear them out? Or do I sacrifice a turret hard point for a probe launcher? Or is there something else I’m missing entirely. Cause the using 2 ships isn’t really plausible for me. I tend to meander around low sec space scanning stuff, if I have to go back to a safe station to switch ships every time I want to run a site. The time involved quickly adds up. I feel like I’m missing something. I’ve watched several guides on youtube, but every single one starts off with them either already in the site or having them already scanned down. No one seems to have a video off the entire process, from undocking to docking. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Also, if you have any good ship build recommendations for what I’m trying to do it’d be a huge help. I can pilot Caldari & Gallente ships up to Destroyers, and I’m working on leveling Drone Skills now. It’d be nice to have a goal for a ship to level into. Thanks!

There are a few ways to go about it, depending on what you can fly and what ships you are willing to commit in the combat sites.

So the obvious one is having a dedicated scanning ship and a dedicated combat ship. It’s not too bad, if you usually just scan stuff in the same system you stage from. Can get annoying if you are more nomadic and wander off far from your staging area.