Question about Vexor low slot fittings, and fitting techniques

Hy there,
I’m currently a Catalyst pilot doing high sec combat missions, and i’m thinking about upgrading to a Vexor (started investing in drone skills…), so i researched some fitting solutions on-line, as well as doing my own simulations. What i don’t understand is why a lot of people invest so many low slot space in different type of armor resistance modules, but none in armor plating ? I mean, one slot occupied with a 400 mm rolled tungsten gives you an additional 2200 Ehp, which is a lot more than any resistance module, except for “damage control” which is really great. I can also understand the fact that higher resistances means a more overall, efficient damage control module, and that armor plates decreases your speed and agility by 5%, but why people keep stacking up resistance modules in spite of penalties of doing so, with no significant gain on “paper”, boggles me. And speaking of stacking penalties, i have seen built’s with 3 drone damage amplifiers. Isn’t that going to reduce the efficiency of each module to 57 % ? Is it worth it ? Please help me better understand fitting mechanics…

The Vexor can be shield or armor tanked. For PVE where you don’t need tackle modules, a lot of people choose to shield tank and use the low slots for damage modules.

No stacking penalties work a little bit differently. The first module (with highest bonus) gives 100%, second highest bonus is penalized and gives 87% of its bonus, third one will only give 57% etc. You can read more about it here: Stacking penalties - EVE University Wiki

Because if Vexor uses active armor tank (with a repper) then fitting additional plate is usually a bad idea, except for very specific content where you can get blapped.

1 Like

The long and short behind resistance modules is to… well… reduce the incoming damage. This allow modules like the Armor Repair Unit or Shield Booster to keep up with incoming damage.