Questions about timers on scanned Cosmic Signatures

Not sure if mechanics vary depending on security level of area, but I’ve only done this in 0.5 and above areas so far, and have questions:

If there is a Cosmic Signature at 0.0% and I begin scanning it and it takes me multiple tries to get it to approx. 95%…then it vanishes and is replaced by a different cosmic signature back at 0.0% – what happened? Was it because I took too long (it indicated it was scanning difficulty lvl IV, and my skills are low). When I started scanning it, there was only the one cosmic signature appearing on the scan window (alt-P) and after I got it into mid-90% range I was having difficulty getting it higher (presume because of low skills), and then it disappeared and another cosmic signature appeared 10-12 AU’s away at 0%…the original was a Relic Site, and after starting over with the new cosmic signature I got a Combat Site.

If I begin scanning a signature that is at 0.0%, and by chance someone else within same area starts scanning it would I see anything during my attempts to alert me to this? If the other person gets it to 100% will I see that, or will it just disappear? When I get a signature to 100%, do others now see it, without having scanned it?

I scanned the Combat Site mentioned above to 100%, bookmarked it and went to nearby station to switch to combat capable ship…took me less than 3-minutes to make the round trip (I timed it because this is not first time this has happened)…when I returned to the combat site and entered first gate it was already filled with nothing but wrecks and I was unable to activate the next gate as the device I needed was apparently already looted by someone else. So other players can see the site I scanned down and get there first, or someone else just happened to be scanning same area and was faster? Seems like a bad mechanic that someone else is able to get to the site I just scanned and have it cleared within just a few minutes.