Rifter PvP Video

Just me or these forums are ■■■■ now?

Anyway this is a Rifter video I made. It is also ■■■■, just like this game.

EVE Online RIFTER PvP

My current character was created in 2017 (or some time very recent, I forget) but I have been playing this game since sometime before 2006. I was only 11 years old when I first tried this game. I’m 24 now.

Around 2008 I was flying the Rifter, except I flew it differently than everybody else, because I wanted to be different. So I flew it with artillery rather than autocannons, which everybody else seemed to use. After several brutal fails at Rifter PvP, the fit I settled on looked something like

(Rifter)

250mm Artillery Cannon x3 loaded with faction EMP, Fusion or Phased Plasma

1mn AB
warp disruptor
Fleeting Propulsion Inhibitor

Tracking Enhancer x2
Small Inefficient Armor Repair Unit

There were no SAARs back then, and the asteroids looked like potatoes.

So did the Dominix. But none of that matters. The point is, the Rifter was awesome, and it was pretty much the best frigate in the game for a cheap price.

I also ended up flying the Incursus with Railguns, at a time when the Incursus was absolute trash with only two low slots, so I flew it with a Railgun hulltank fit and killed many a Rifter even though it was highly underestimated. This was all on my first character Dorian Tormak, who was sold a few years ago.

As you are all aware (or should be), Rifter has had a fairly major fall from grace since those days. We’ve gone from Canes and Drakes Online to Ishtars Online to T1 cruisers Online to T3Ds Online to Capitals Online and now to Jaguarceptors Online.

IIRC the Rifter had a tracking bonus back then. Today it has a falloff bonus and no utility highslot. As it turns out this makes my old concept fitting for the Rifter even more relevant than it used to be, because 280mm Howitzers have excellent falloff.

So the new fit looks like

(Rifter)

280mm Howitzer Artillery x3

1mn Y-S8 Compact AB