T2 Orca

I would like to suggest the developement of at Tech II version of the the Orca with jump capabilities. It would make it a usefull ship again. And it would become a good ship to use in various mining operations in systems away from homebase.

3 Likes

A useful ship again?

It’s already an awesome ship. What’s wrong with the existing Orca that makes it not useful?

1 Like

This is a joke, right? Please tell me this is a joke.

I’m an Orca pilot and it has been useful for a very long time now. It contribute more to the mining fleets than it originally did. It can provide better defenses, assist in hauling and mining, and provide fitting services and fleet boosts on top of that. It is the only industrial command ship that can provide so much without being restricted to low sec space.

The only other ship that can compete with it now is the Rorqual and that’s a beast of a ship to have for mining fleets.

For what i can do now compared to the much cheaper Porpoise, it is useless ISK wise. Making a T2 version would give it meaning as a ship in between the Rorqual and the Porpoise.

Elaborate. How exactly would it give it meaning as a ship? You can safely haul expensive items through high-sec with a tank that can rival a battleship. You can force multiply your mining fleet with cargo capacity, drone defenses, fleet boosts, and level of efficiency that rivals that of the Porpoise with the Orca. Unlike the Purpoise you can also carry fully fitted ships in the maintenance bay. Not to mention refit a ship. Sure, the mobile depots can serve that purpose as well at a cheaper cost but those are limited in terms of use compared to the Orca. For starters you don’t have to anchor an Orca or deal with the minimum-distance restrictions that come with anchoring.

2 Likes

1.) sounds like some does not know how to use an orca.

2.) This is not F&I

3 Likes

It does sound like it.