Thinking of returning

Been toying with the idea of coming back fro a while now. I have finally installed the game today and have a few questions…

I left towards the end of 2013 - 7 years is a fairly long time and I literally think I have forgotten everything about the game!

My background is I started as a miner, then went onto manufacturing, then did a bit of transporting stuff and selling between stations, until finally I became a station trader. I also did a bit of PVE combat on the side. But I was pretty good at trading and that is where I made most my ISK.

It’s a while ago, but I remember just before I left I liquidated everything and donated at lot of plex to some player that ran an event that donated plex for charity or something?
Can’t exactly remember how it worked, or if it still exists. Only that i donated everything as I had no intention of coming back and now wish I had at least held onto a few plex to buy some game time! I remember it being enough to pay my subscription for a long time… like 10 years +

Anyway I’ve logged in today to see I have around 500 million isk of assets left. I can’t train anything as I am over the skill cap for non paying account and I can’t even un-dock my ship unless I upgrade to a paid account.

When I used to play I just used to buy plex in game for my subscription. Is it possible with the current game mechanics as a non paying player with 500 million ISK to work my way back to that without upgrading to a paid subscription?

Totally…it might take a month or two (or three) but you’ll make enough to buy 500 PLEX (that system changed BTW) and go Omega…good news is PLEX price is falling so now is a great time to be returning.

Best of luck and welcome back!

You’ll want to look up how player owned structures work too, as the markets in them can have lower transaction costs than NPC stations and you’ll want to factor that in to your trading.