To be or not to be

I have been playing EvE for two months. At first the game looks very confusing but soon you adopt to environment and learn quick. The game is great, it gives you big freedom and lots of choices for tour career.
But the major problem of the game is PvP. If a new player wants to be just a little competitive he need to play at least a year. I wanted to upgrade to omega. But latter i thought to myself. Why?
Why would i upgrade to omega if i cant to anything in space? I can fight NPC-s with alpha account. Just logon few times a week and after a year when i skill up i can upgrade to omega.
But year from now what will be with the game? Because in this game concept majority of players can upgrade to omega without paying with real money. The economy of the game is not very bright. I read that the creating studio was both by another company. So if there is no a steady flow of new players (like me) willing to pay for omega the game might be shot down. And resources diverted to other projects.
Developers need to find a way to attract new players and keep them in the game.
There should be a possibility for new players to battle each other in PvP.
For example in Faction warfare there are sites who are restricted to ship classes. But this is not a simulation! The main focus in not on ships but on character. This is space RPG.
Some sites should be restricted to skill levels. Or number of skill points. For example a player with less than 2 mill. skills can enter a certain site in FW.

I like the game. I wont quit. But why would i upgrade to omega?
And no. I dont want to join a some corporation so i can have better chances in PvP.

5 Likes

You can pvp in any ship whether you are skilled or not. Thats how you learn the ways of the game. Also dying a lot will get you over the ā€˜rage-quitā€™ attitide some people have when they lose ships in pvp.

Then, as your skills get better, you will already know many of the tricks to make you a great pvp pilot

1 Like