Trying out stuff as a new player

I want to briefly explain what I experienced so far and what I think of the game. Please correct me or give me tips if have been doing something wrong or stupid.

I play and played a lot of games from all kinds of genres. So far world of warcraft vanilla comes closest to eve in my opinion. While wow is strung along leveling and getting more gear, eve is built around money and your character’s skills.

I started playing a few days ago and did a few of the introduction quests showing different ways to make money.

They were nicely designed in themselves but kind of don’t represent what the rest of the game is or maybe I’m missing something. E.g. I have to get ore from an asteroid, refine it and turn it in at the quest guy but after the quests are done there are no new quest guys. In wow you would pick a quest, collect items for it, and then turn it in which makes the basic progression of the game but in eve I farm asteroids to sell them on the market to other players. It is much more mmo-sandbox which is nice but that is not portrayed by the quests well enough.

Furthermore to make the most money one should not refine the ores because the end product has less value. Which seemed weird to me so I looked more into it.

Looking through wikis and guides while my ship was mining rocks in the background I learned more about the skills and refining only gets good with high enough skills to increase the yield.

So I started to learn more mining skills first and then these golden 14 skills that improve any ship since they are used all the time like shields or maneuvering.