A love letter to EVE Online

I have been playing EVE Online on and off since 2003. It filled a need in me to solve a complicated, integrate puzzle:

Each component of EVE is a mechanism in and off itself that requires knowledge and occasionally skills from other parts of the game. I am not interested in everything I can do in EVE. In fact the activity I was the most interested in is now a former shadow of itself thanks to the Odyssey expansion. But then CCP did not promise me an activity that would last forever. They simply said come explore.

Of all the activities a person can experience in EVE there is one overriding constant: Change. Constant change.

For many of you that choose to read this post, time in the New Eden cluster will be shorter than mine. I have the advantage of the long, historical, view. There is nothing wrong with that. You are no less valuable than a longer term player. In fact, brand new players, less than one week old, have invested time and effort into learning and playing the game. Their opinions of the game and the EVE community matter. In other words everyone has an opinion based on the knowledge and understanding they have of the game. Unfortunately not all opinions are reasoned and are influenced by the input of others.

I caution you all, CCP owes you nothing as a free to play player. As a paying customer (of any form) CCP owes you a game experience. CCP as a business can choose anything they want in relation to the activities available within the game experience. As paying and potential paying customers, we get to choose to spend our time, effort and money within the game environment. Beyond providing a game environment, CCP owes us nothing.