A Question About Blobs

Having now been involved in blobs several times…a question arises…

Following the fleet commander closely can give the benefit of boosts, etc. But, I noticed all the ships were colliding quite a lot. Surely that throws out the turret tracking. I mean, if my ship is literally spinning in space because of such a collision, my targeting is going to be affected.

Is that the case, or not.

I’m not a mechanics wonk, so guessing based on other experiences with the game here.

Mechanics-wise, I believe your ship is simply treated as a sphere. Orientation isn’t significant, and could for instance be handled client-side since I can’t think of any places where it makes a difference to game outcomes. (Can be wrong there, this is just my experience.)

So mechanics results only care about the relative motion of your sphere vs. the target sphere.

A second observation (not EVE related, but ‘gaming experience’) would be that if you see this behavior in a group of noobs, it could well be detrimental. If you see the same behavior happening repeatedly with players who typically know what they’re doing, then you can somewhat safely assume it’s been mathed out before and the benefits outweigh the downsides.

This is where I’ve seen some disagreement in other posts. For example, align and warp. Some claim that the process of warping to a station is quicker if you are aligned in the first place. Others claim ( and I have even seen Youtube videos where it is timed ) that this is a myth and simply not true…and that the ‘sphere’ model means it will take the same length of time no matter how you are aligned.

Alignment includes moving in the direction of the thing you are aligned to. The align button doesn’t just rotate your ship. Aligned, but stationary is not aligned.

1 Like