Abyssal Problem, Maybe

Just started doing Abyssals about 10 days ago and in the process was looking at fits I noticed nearly every fit is shield tanked. Even ships meant to be armor tanked are shield tanked. The damage mods for guns and drones are all low slots, which basically results in armor tank getting the boot. Any armor tanks able to rival the super blingy shield tanks sacrifice DPS and since abyssals are time limited, nobody wants lower DPS, so they shield tank everything. The whole thing seems to heavily favor missiles, drones and shield. Im seeing the odd Deimos and Zealots but nothing significant maybe?

The rats heavily nerf guns, both with tracking disruption and speed tanking you. The pylons help a bit if you can get to them. Stuff is tough to hit if you are speed tanking yourself. Missiles and drones don’t really suffer. Drones get aggroed but with faction drones and ship drone HP bonuses, some are nearly immortal.

I have limited experience but I was wondering if this is regarded as an issue and/or is going to get balanced out? Maybe make some abyssals that favors armor tank, some guns and give unique loot? The problem still remains however that armor tank competes with DPS so low DPS will get you killed as surely as lack of tank due to the time limit.

Can you please make the Firestorms increase armor resists and NOT HP? :slight_smile:

Nah, the issue isn’t that armor tanks suck, it’s that the ships that can use armor tanks happen to not be the kings of the meta due to their weapon systems.

The Sacrilege is always armor tanked and is good but its worse than some of its alternatives. The Ikitursa and Deimos both basically have to fit an armor tank but both struggle with tracking, as all turrets in the abyss do, so they see less use than other ships.

The Stormbringer, Gila, and Cerberus are all doing pretty well and theyre all intended to be shield tanked, they also dont use turrets because theyre generally the worst option for the abyss.