Alphas and economics

I see that the choice of limiting Alphas on the Economic side (some skills are omega only and ORE ships are limited to the Venture) is wise. But giving, in the future, more options for Alphas to actually matter most on the economic side of Eve woudn’t be good?

I see it as: More economy=cheaper stuff=more explosions=more expensive stuff=everyone happy.

But anyway I am just a rookie, so just wanted to share my opinion

Please don’t recide my capsuleer contract

we have to limit them from mining and other things but not from milking isk into the system that is already drowning in it according to ccp.

Unfortunately, almost 15 years of experience shows us it doesn’t work that way. The equation is more like:

More resource generation = cheaper stuff = same amount of explosions = less stuff for industrialists to do = people unsubscribing

This view is certainly debatable, but seems to be generally hold true in my estimation. People don’t like losing things and are both terrible judges of risks and costs, as well as subject to non-economic forces (i.e. social scorn over losses) that break the simple more stuff = take more idea risk that industrialists (and botters) like to use to justify why they should be catered to.

Should alphas have access to more industrial options? Maybe, but we already are suffering under increased over-production as compared to destruction (see MER) so I can see why CCP is minimizing the production side of the alphas capabilities while trying to increase their destructive capabilities.

There is also the botting concern which CCP doesn’t seem to have a handle on, which is made worse in all F2P games when there is no cost for an account. That must factor into it in some way as well.

Still, I bet the long term play for CCP is to go completely F2P and transition away from the subscription model if at all possible. So you might see such an unlocking of industrial skills at some point over the next few years.

3 Likes