Alt mining

Hi guys,

I’m new to the game. I’ve been reading old posts and the eve wiki, in an attempt to isolate for myself what to do. One one hand, I’m thinking of opening a few accounts, and multi-boxing some mining alts to make money. I am not sure the way eve online is setup that this is possible with alpha accounts anymore, as they don’t want people doing it, I read. You can only use a venture also, I read, and not any of the more expensive barges.

I was also thinking of gas harvesting on one alt only. I already have an explorer as my main, although I only started him a few days ago, and know how to track down gas sites in wormholes. I read that gas harvesting is profitable, but the initial 30 million isk to get started with the skill is a bit expensive.

What is the best way to proceed to get into mining?

Should I go down the multi-boxing route, what will I need to train on my alpha accounts? Just Mining IV and enough skill to get a venture? Will I make much with the alpha accounts or will one account omega be more profitable?

I found this resource: https://wiki.eveuniversity.org/Creating_an_Alt_Miner

but I think this assumes you have omega accounts.

I am thinking now to just make one alt miner account and go omega and see if that makes a profit, while i do exploration on my other omega account.

Or should I make a few omega accounts, and suck it up as an investment, in an attempt to be later be able to buy plex for the accounts?

Would really love to hear advice please.

Thanks,

alpha = no alt.

Only one Alpha account is able to be online at once, so you cannot multi box Alpha accounts even with a mix of Omegas. It’s all Omega or nothing for having multiple alts online at once.

Also, as you say Alphas are limited to Ventures (or some other non-mining ship with mining lasers, which is less that ideal to say the least).