Blasters and railguns, not sure about the best strategy

Hi, I’m new to this beautiful game (1 month) and currently I have an Incursus with 3 small railguns (kite style), with which I’m satisfied at the moment (I play PvE and yesterday I was sussessful in defeating an entire pirate forward operating base alone, although returning several times to the base for repairs).

My question is:

Yesterday I saw that I was much more effective against cruisers using antimatter instead of iridium and shortening distance from 26 to 8 km. This way I almost take no damage and hit with more strenght, but it was not a quick solution.

So I was thinking, could be a good idea buy also 3 small blasters and use them with antimatter against enemy cruisers to finish them more rapidly and then go to the closest base and switch back to railguns to easily destroy frigates at distance, or is a waste of money?

I am puzzled because Incursus have a small hangar so I have to decide between destroy enemies more quickly but lose some space to carry additional equipment or take more time to win but have more space for looting, hence earn more ISK.

1 Like

Blasters do more damage than railguns, however they have much shorter range, so whilst you may get 8k with antimatter with rails, you may get less than 1k range with blasters… but you will do more damage.

Well, I always end up training drone skills and get into an Algos asap :slight_smile:
My ratting experience: With blasters it’s quite hard to apply all the damage and micro your drones parallely cause you have to micro the ship itself quite often. As the impact of the volleys didn’t look much harder than these of my railguns while I received much more damage being close, I was kinda disappointed of the blasters. But probably I’m just doing it wrong.

you could fit a longer range ammo in the blasters but then you will do less damage, so may be better to stick with rails.