Brave joined the Goons?

I am new to null sec politics. I saw the state of the goonion and the most recent meta show and was wondering:
Did the brave alliance just join the goons?

Could someone explain the situation to me?

Goons allied themselves with Brave.

They are still separate entities though, neither of them joined the other, except that they now are fighting on the same side in what is assumed to become the next large null sec war.

Null sec politics has three large blocs, consisting of WinterCo, PanFam and the Imperium, as well as some smaller groups.

Hereā€™s a nice map:

Let me start the story end of the year '21.

Iā€™ve been part of Brave for many years now and we just had a long war of Everyone else versus the Imperium behind us, which the Imperium won, so everyone else moved back to where their home was. Except as Brave our home was no more, so we had crashed on the couch of Fraternity (WinterCo) in Geminate to recover from that war for a short time.

Anyway, end of '21 Brave set everyone else to neutral (first time that happened for me, weā€™d never been without allies before) and tried to stand on their own feet in Pure Blind by taking some systems.

Lots of fun, we fought Banderlogs, Blob, many other small groups that were all in Pure Blind and we had small scale skirmishes all the time.

But then, about 8 months ago, Fraternity declared war on Volta and GTC to take their space. Brave, who did not want to see Fraternity take away the other small groups from the area and destroy the fun we had with plenty of neighbours to shoot, stood with Volta and GTC and formed a new temporary coalition to hold back Fraternity. B2 is the new name that you see on the sov map.