Changing the cat and mouse game of gatecamps

I wrote up a proposal of an idea for CCP that adds a twist to the cat and mouse aspects of gate camping. I believe the post is too long to post as a forum post, so I posted on a blog, hopefully this is not too taboo. Feel free to comment here (or the blog), I’ll try to pay attention to both.

http://blog.taggedzi.com/wp/2017/11/24/gank-intel-concept/

Do enjoy. I figure some people will find the idea offensive… while others might really like. I am a developer so I tried to layout a solid concept of what I was asking for, and how it “could” work (not how it has too). But I am not a developer for CCP (nor am I looking to be at this time), so I do not know about how practical or achievable it would be. I understand eve is a huge game and even small changes can drastically change the balance, so… this is nothing more than idea that I would love to see implemented in some form or fashion. And I’m bringing it here for discussion and thoughts and hopefully expose the idea to other players and CCP.

Thx.

2 Likes

I believe in you.

I think your idea is a fresh breath of air. Not only that, I like how you break out the already-prominent tools and methods players have concoted to fight the gatecamp.

I’d be honored if you’d read my reddit post that suggests something of the same, wrapped up in a greater dialogue that is my New Player story. You can find it here

I think this universe has great promise… but to me, it feels so small and with no mystery left. People may say EVE isn’t dying, but the data proves otherwise… there’s a fantastical flight away from New Eden and it appears only the hardcore jaded don’t mind.

Sooo…you want to see into the next system without having to risk anything or rely on another player/alt, do I understand your proposal, in a nutshell?

Why not using scout alts/friend for the same thing? I guess CCP would encourage people to interact or pay to get such functionality.