Combat Help

I’m new to EVE and i think i need some advice, i don’t know when to use Approach, Orbit or Keep at Range during a combat, what is the best option in the most commom fight situations?

If you are referring to PVP, then it isn’t a straight forward question.

The best, but it takes a lot of practice to do well, is to manually pilot by double clicking in space. That can be used to manage range, transversal and speed compared to target; and provides the most control.

However, when learning, the automated options can be useful in different situations.

Approach: if brawling and you want to get in their face and have good defence, so you aren’t concerned about minimising the incoming damage, or are going against weapons that can’t miss (eg. missiles, rockets)

Orbit: if kiting and you want to control range, but also want to minimise incoming damage and know that your own wepons system is fast enough to still hit ok. This can also be used if you are in under the guns of an opponent who’s weapons won’t track you, so you want to keep up the angular momentum, or if you are trying to keep up good speed compared to the target to reduce the damage (eg. of missiles)

Keep at range: You want to control range and are scram kiting, or kiting and either need low transversal so your weapons hit, or you aren’t worried about the opponents weapons hitting so much

There’s a lot more subtlety to it as you learn, but they would be my main uses if I was learning over again.

This isn’t necessarily a complete list of uses either, so I’m sure there will be other people respond with great answers.

2 Likes